Lunch!

9 Aug

One of the things I’ve been most looking forward to from my garden this year are fagioline del Trasimeno, beans from Italy that were heading toward extinction. They don’t lend themselves to mechanical harvesting, so the economics of commercial growing don’t add up. Richter’s is selling them as part of their Seed Zoo line.

I put in nine seeds, which all germinated. They produced lovely pods and seeds, and today, I turned them into a pretty tasty lunch.

fagioline-pods

fagioline-no-pods

Pappardelle with Fagioline del Trasimeno
More a Description Than a Recipe

I heated about a tablespoon of olive oil in a small saucepan until it shimmered and then added the beans.

fagioline-in-the-pot

When they started to wrinkle, I added about 3/4 C of cold water, a bay leaf, a clove of garlic and some black pepper. I let it simmer (lid on) for 30 minutes.

fagioline-brodo

As you can see, there was a lot of liquid left, so I decided to undercook the pasta and allow it to finish in the broth. I went with an egg pappardelle, which I find is a good choice with a thinner sauce since it’s got so much surface area.

When the pasta was cooked most of the way through, but still too al dente to eat, I transferred it to the saucepan with the beans and broth and let it cook for another minute or so.

I finished it with fleur de sel and then tucked in.

fagioline-w-pasta

There are surely a zillion other things I could have done with the beans, but this was delicious. The broth was flavourful and the fagioline were tender. They have a savoury taste that reminded me of sage. Or something. Truly, I’m not sure. I’m discovering as I write this that describing flavour isn’t all that easy. In any event, they’re really good and I’m looking forward to more.

4 Responses to “Lunch!”

  1. Ben 11-August-2011 at 13:20 #

    You take fantastic photos. Do you grow these veggies yourself?

    On a completely unrelated note, The Twilight Singers and The Hold Steady happen to be two of my all-time favorite bands, and I don’t think I’ve seen anyone list either one of them – let alone both – on a list of beloved music before. You win.

    • Sarah 11-August-2011 at 13:40 #

      Thanks, Ben. These photos are a product of taking way too many with my iPhone and then picking out the best.

      The beans did come from my garden. It hasn’t been the best growing summer so far, but these were a knock-out.

      As for the music, that’s a game I’m happy to win. Thanks! (Do you know about the 17-Sept Twilight Singers show in San Francisco? They’re performing Blackberry Belle in its entirety.)

      And, on a completely unrelated note, I’m a big fan of your writing.

      • Ben 12-August-2011 at 13:05 #

        Ooo, I didn’t know about that SF show. Might be an excuse to dash off on a weekend roadtrip.

        I’m so glad you like my blog – I pour my heart into that thing, so it’s always inspiring to hear that somebody’s enjoying it.

        Your blog is very soothing…makes me wish I still had a garden.

      • Sarah 15-August-2011 at 20:34 #

        You should go!

Leave a Reply

